WEEK 21 – You gotta believe !!!

My kids are really into Star Wars.  I love it because it’s the perfect example of the Hero’s Journey. (that’s for another Blog Post) I was trying to help them appreciate the symbolism of the movie and while I was looking at the blank stares from a 8 and 5 year old … I realized there was another lesson that applied to this weeks readings.  We read about how Big ideas are no more difficult to accomplish than the small ones, and that we will limit our belief in the Big idea simply because …. its big.

You might remember this scene in the clip above where Luke Skywalker was trying to use the ‘force,’ to get his plane out of a swamp.

Luke told Yoda he would try and guess what … he failed.

Just this one scene has so many parallels to what we are learning.

  • Luke is easily distracted.
  • He’s reminded that he has to unlearn all he has learned (New Blueprint)
  • Thinks the size (big idea) limits his abilities
  • Thinks “trying his best” is good enough.
  • Again with the limiting beliefs!!  “You ask the impossible”
  • Yoda shows that no idea is “Too Big” –
  • “I don’t believe it“ …. “that is why you fail” … He was yet to change his world within … Nothing can ever be created without first seeing it and believing it in our minds.

Wow all that packed into a 4 min clip.

I could go on but I’ll focus on just one of these areas as it relates to this weeks lesson.

A football coach of mine used to say all the time. “There is no A for effort.”

I grew up. like many. with the belief that trying my best was good enough. My parents unknowingly gave the wrong advise … “just do your best son .. what’s important is that you try, there is no shame in failing if you try hard”

While I’m glad my parents didn’t want me to sit back and not participate, and I know they had good intentions.  What they unwittingly did was set the stage for and make it OK to fail. That door was always open, as long as you give it the good old collage try … all is forgiven.

However, I have learned in 20 years of being in business and in dealing with people, and in coaching … that there is a strong connection between these two quotes. “There is no A for effort” really means it is all about the results you achieve and it is not about the attempt and to Yoda’s point, trying is merely an attempt … “Do, or do not … There is no try”.

To get things done and get the results you want and excel at them, you need skills … but more importantly you need to believe you can do it.

“Trying” is a self-limiting belief.  After Luke attempted and failed, Yoda did it no problem … all 2 foot 4 inches of him … 657 years old. He could of used any number of excuses why he couldn’t do it.

When Yoda was finished, Luke said, “I don’t believe it.” and Yoda’s says, “That is why you fail.”  

It’s all about “Believing” man.  It’s so powerful. When you believe you can achieve something, no matter how Big, you will commit to do whatever is necessary to make it happen. You will learn what you need to learn. You will commit whatever time is necessary and you will seek out help when needed. Because your belief is so strong, you will access whatever resources are necessary to make it happen and you will not stop til its done.

Don’t believe me?  How does a 6 year kid with no money, and no resources, and no experience wake up one morning and just decide she’s going to raise a huge amount of money for Cancer resource?…  This kid is literally changing the world.  The belief was larger than the challenge.  Amazing!!!

Warning: I can’t watch this without tearing up

An attitude of trying will never propel you to take the extra step because your rip cord of “I tried” gives you permission to stop short based on what is believed to be a good enough effort. People and businesses often fall short due to this simple but powerful belief. I mentioned earlier that belief is powerful.Whether you believe in mediocrity or results, you will get whichever one you believe in.

I’m a bit of a Shakespeare geek … One of my favorite quotes is

“Our doubts are traitors and make us lose the good we oft might win, by fearing to attempt.” – William Shakespeare

Yoda also told Luke to “unlearn what you have learned.” This new Blueprint is not easy … you gotta want it bad dude!!. Here are some ideas from the Master Keys that can help us all.

  • positive affirmations … multiple times a day. (Index cards)
  • Surround yourself with positive people who will push you to excel and hold you accountable. (Master Mind)
  • Find a mentor who has walked the road you are trying to traverse and become a sponge.
  • Learn, Learn. Learn and then learn some more.
  • Surround yourself with positive messages. – (Vision Board)
  • Remove the naysayers in your life. … Tell people you find the word “can’t” offensive. The energy suckers from your life will either figure it out, or won’t want to be around you, (beautiful!!)because you will remind them of everything they are not.

Much Love !!!

9 thoughts on “WEEK 21 – You gotta believe !!!

  1. Your posts are a huge part of the class for me… grateful for them… good words here and many great thoughts to apply … I GET IT… 🙂 I imagine you are headed to be a trainer you can do it that is for sure!

  2. Hi Jason, I have young kids too and had gathered that it was good to tell them to do their best. That would encourage their ‘have a go’ attitude. Having said that, I wouldn’t want to instill in them that it was ok to fail, except that it is, as long as they never give up. I guess if it’s in pursuit of their true interests (DMP) they would need to know to never give up. Believe you can. Know you can. Do it. Be it. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Belief is important. In the past my belief was that good things happened to other people. And I got what I believed. Now I know I have the power to change things by changing the belief and I can see the change in just this short time

  4. Jason, thank you for your great blog. So inspiring! I have been focusing on Yoda’s :Do or Do not, there is no try”, to replace the try in my life which gives me the trapdoor escape. Getting back to thinking big is key also.

    Thanks for such an insightful and well developed post!

Leave a comment